Doha Shams

Articles

1 – The Killer As if it wasn’t enough that he killed her, after 15 years of battering her. As if it wasn’t enough that he took a second wife, and...
Thursday, February 13, 2014
Read more | 1 Comment
There is no respite for Syrian women refugees in North Lebanon’s Akkar from the daily humiliations of sexual harassment. Impoverished and desperate,...
Friday, January 24, 2014
Read more | 1 Comment
Perhaps the best description of what is happening in Akkar today, regarding the Syrian refugees, would be to say that the latter’s supposed “...
Thursday, November 7, 2013
Read more
At the highest point of Akkar’s countryside lies the town of Fnideq. Like other Akkar villages, Fnideq is mourning its residents who drowned...
Monday, October 7, 2013
Read more | 1 Comment
As soon as you approach Centrale Street, where al-Salam Mosque is located, glass will crunch beneath your feet with almost every step. Within a 200-...
Saturday, August 24, 2013
Read more | 1 Comment
On July 17, a new Israeli news channel, dubbed i24 News and inspired by France24, began broadcasting from the city of Jaffa in occupied Palestine,...
Saturday, August 3, 2013
Read more | 1 Comment
Since the start of the protests and ensuing unrest in Turkey, a peculiar tradition has emerged in Istanbul. As the soon as the clock strikes 9 pm, a...
Tuesday, June 18, 2013
Read more
On Sunday, the anticipated assault on the besieged Syrian town of Qusayr began. This put an end to the race to find a peaceful solution in the town,...
Monday, May 20, 2013
Read more
In the Alawi villages of North Lebanon, the residents are anxious. They speak of road blocks, ID checks, and a cast of “outsiders” that threaten...
Thursday, January 3, 2013
Read more | 2 Comments
The small details of life in the Lebanese city of Tripoli: the sectarian songs broadcast from kiosks, the rumors of a secret Sunni-Shia census, and...
Monday, December 10, 2012
Read more
^ Back to Top