Rajana Hamyeh

Articles

What do Eva, Fatima, Linda, and Zainab – 14, 11, 13, and 15 years of age, respectively – have in common? They are all child brides and expectant...
Friday, February 14, 2014
Read more
On February 3, 2014, Hussein Qataya died outside the hospital because there was no available bed in the intensive care unit. He was not the first,...
Friday, February 7, 2014
Read more
“A woman who was considered a runaway from her marital home and is brought to the police station based on a warrant is no longer a runaway but has...
Sunday, January 26, 2014
Read more
In 2013, 10 civil marriages were conducted on Lebanese soil. Though good news, the facts on the ground do not bode well. A civil marriage conducted...
Sunday, January 12, 2014
Read more
During Lebanon’s snowstorm Alexa, five Syrian children froze to death. Who is to blame for these senseless deaths? Is it the Lebanese state, which...
Monday, December 23, 2013
Read more
When allegations surfaced that Lebanese priest, Mansour Labaki, had molested three children under the care of his pastoral foundation, there were...
Saturday, November 30, 2013
Read more
A judge in Lebanon’s Keserwan, Dina Daaboul, issued a ruling in the case of Filipina domestic worker Anali Portugal. Though justice was delivered for...
Monday, November 18, 2013
Read more | 1 Comment
Eva, 13, was a victim of a reprehensible crime. Kidnapped as a way to collect her father’s financial debt, she was forced to marry her kidnapper’s...
Monday, October 28, 2013
Read more
Several residents of the Beirut neighborhood Wata al-Moussaitbeh blocked the roads with burning tires to stand up against the state, saying their...
Monday, October 21, 2013
Read more
On Sunday, October 6, 18 survivors from the Indonesian refugee boat returned to Lebanon. The scene at their arrival, however, was the total opposite...
Tuesday, October 8, 2013
Read more
^ Back to Top