Zeinab Merhi

Articles

In Lebanon, generation after generation, people are leaving. Fifty-two percent of those between 35 and 39 years old live outside the country – 59...
Tuesday, August 13, 2013
Read more
On 4 July 2013, Rim Zakaria and Zainab Awada, two Lebanese women who fled their abusive husbands, spoke at a press conference organized by the NGO...
Wednesday, July 24, 2013
Read more
Buthaina, Salma, and Hawraa experienced a great deal of harm when their husbands or fathers took other wives. Though many of these women are...
Tuesday, May 21, 2013
Read more | 2 Comments
The Campaign to Boycott Supporters of Israel in Lebanon held its first press conference on 28 February 2013 at the Lebanese Press Syndicate in Beirut...
Friday, March 1, 2013
Read more | 10 Comments
Between the ages of 7 and 18, the detainees at Lebanon’s Fanar juvenile center are among the youngest in the country. Al-Akhbar reports on their...
Wednesday, January 2, 2013
Read more
In Lebanon’s Baabda prison for women, there is no shortage of appalling stories. From false imprisonment to domestic abuse, the women imprisoned...
Tuesday, January 1, 2013
Read more | 1 Comment
A Beirut high school with a long history is the setting for a deluxe Ashura gathering that frowns on ritual weeping over the martyred Hussein,...
Thursday, November 22, 2012
Read more | 3 Comments
Al-Akhbar Correspondents visited Sunday morning the Beirut neighborhoods of Tariq al-Jdideh, a majority-Sunni stronghold of the Future Movement, and...
Monday, October 22, 2012
Read more
Many displaced Syrians have now given up hope of returning home and have started to seek resettlement elsewhere. Al-Akhbar’s Zeinab Merhi spoke to...
Wednesday, October 17, 2012
Read more
As the story goes, at the height of the Lebanese civil war, a Christian priest visited then president Elias Sarkis asking for help. He wanted the...
Monday, October 8, 2012
Read more
^ Back to Top